Below is a letter from ten Texas legislators to the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles urging them to grant clemency to Jeff Wood. In addition to this letter, other legislators have told us that they are writing their own letters, including Rep. Dora Olivo and Rep. Mike Villareal.

Texas House of Representatives

August 12, 2008

Ms. Rissie Owens
Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Members of the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles
Executive Clemency Section
8610 Shoal Creek Boulevard
Austin, Texas 78757

Dear Chairwoman Owens and Board Members:

We are writing to urge the Board to recommend commuting Jeffrey Wood’s death sentence to a life sentence. Further, we hope that Governor Peny would act favorably on such a recommendation. As we are certain you are aware, Mr. Wood is set to be executed on August 21,2008.

Mr. Wood was convicted of capital murder under the Texas Law of Parties. It appears evident that he neither killed, nor anticipated that Daniel Earl Reneau would kill, Kris Keeran. He did not anticipate that a murder would occur and was not in the store when the murder took place. The shooter, Danny Reneau, has already been executed for this crime. When asked on death row to identify the shooter, Reneau had a oneword reply, “Me.”

This case is similar to the case of Kenneth Foster, whose death sentence under the Law of Parties was commuted by Govemor Perry in 2007.

While Jeffrey Wood deserves to be imprisoned for his participation in the robbery, he should not be executed. We find the facts of his case, as well as the application of the Law of Parties, to be particularly bothersome.

The death penalty is supposed to be reserved for the worst of the worst. It seems clear to us that Jeffrey Wood is not a man for whom the death penalty should be applied. We respectfully request that clemency be granted.

Thank you very much for your consideration.


Rep. Elliott Naishtat
District 49

Rep. Donna Howard
District 48

Rep. Lon Burnam
District 90

Ruth Jones McClendon
District 120

Rep. Alma Allen
District 131

Rep. Eddie Rodriguez
District 51

Rep. Sylvester Tumer
District 139

Rep. Harold Dutton
District 142

Rep. Jessica Farrar
District 148

Rep. Mark Strama
District 50

cc: The Honorable Rick Perry
Governor of Texas
State Capitol 2S.1

Share →

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: